Chairman Of The Joint Chiefs Hosts Ceremony For Nat'l Medal Of Honor Day

President of the Medal of Honor Society Air Force Colonel (retired) Leo Thorsness (C) and Air Force Chief of Staff Gen. Norton Schwartz (L) participate in the medal's 150th Anniversary ceremony in the Hall of Heroes at the Pentagon March 25, 2011 in Arlington, Virginia. Thorsness was awarded the Medal of Honor for an air engagement on April 19, 1967 where he destroyed two surface-to-air missile sites, shot down an enemy fighter plane while providing cover for a rescue mission and guided a fellow pilot home after he was critically low on fuel and lost. With fewer than 90 Medal of Honor recipients still living, about 20 of them attended the ceremony. The medal is presented by the president of the United States for "conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of one's life above and beyond the call of duty."
(March 24, 2011 - Source: Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images North America) more pics from this album »