'Inglourious Basterds,' 'Avatar' Lead Empire Awards Nominations

Inglourious+Basterds+Cast in 'Inglourious Basterds' Photocall In Berlin
The cast of 'Inglourious Basterds' attend the photocall for the premiere in Berlin, Germany. (Photo Agency)more pics »Inglourious Basterds and Avatar lead this year's 15th annual Jameson Empire Film Award nominations. The blockbusters, directed by Quentin Tarantino and James Cameron respectively, were nominated in five categories each, including the coveted Best Film category, in which they will vie for the prize against Star Trek, District 9 and The Hurt Locker. The same five movies are also up for the Best Director.

James Cameron (Bauer Griffin)
Empire editor Mark Dinning said: "Once again the Empire readers have done us proud with their nominations for the Jameson Empire Awards. Unlike other awards shortlists, their choices truly reflect the diversity of movies - celebrating everything that's smart and exciting about cinema today."

The lead actors in both Inglourious Basterds and Avatar are up for Best Actor and Best Actress, Christoph Waltz and Melanie Laurent for the former and Sam Worthington and Zoe Saldana for the latter.

Both categories are set to be hotly contested, with Sir Michael Caine, Robert Pattinson and Robert Downey Jr. also up for Best Actor, and the Best Actress nominees joined by Anne-Marie Duff, Carey Mulligan and Emily Blunt .

Inglourious Basterds is also nominated for Best Thriller, while Avatar's final nomination is for Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy.

Carey Mulligan, who has been nominated for an Oscar for her role in 'An Education', is also in the Best Newcomer category alongside Aaron Johnson, Sharlto Copley, Anna Kendrick and Katie Jarvis.

Among the surprise nominations is thriller Harry Brown, which has been named in three categories.

The Empire Awards are voted for by the public, and the event is held at London's Grosvenor House Hotel on March 28.

The Jameson Empire Awards full list of nominees:

Best Film presented by Sony:

'Star Trek'
'District 9'
'Inglourious Basterds'
'The Hurt Locker'

Best Director:

James Cameron - 'Avatar'
Neil Blomkamp - 'District 9'
JJ Abrams - 'Star Trek'
Quentin Tarantino - 'Inglourious Basterds'
Kathryn Bigelow - 'The Hurt Locker'

Best Actor presented by Citroën:

Sir Michael Caine - 'Harry Brown'
Christoph Waltz - 'Inglourious Basterds'
Robert Pattinson - 'The Twilight Saga: New Moon'
Sam Worthington - 'Avatar'
Robert Downey Jr. - 'Sherlock Holmes'

Best Actress:

Anne-Marie Duff - 'Nowhere Boy'
Carey Mulligan - 'An Education'
Zoe Saldana - 'Avatar'
Emily Blunt - 'The Young Victoria'
Melanie Laurent - 'Inglourious Basterds'

Best British Film:

'Harry Brown'
'The Imaginarium Of Doctor Parnassus'
'An Education'
'Nowhere Boy'
'In The Loop'

Best Comedy:

'In The Loop'
'A Serious Man'
'The Hangover'
'Up In The Air'
'The Men Who Stare At Goats'

Best Horror:

'Let The Right One In'
'Paranormal Activity'
'Drag Me To Hell'

Best Sci-Fi/Fantasy:

'Star Trek'
'District 9'
'The Imaginarium Of Doctor Parnassus'

Best Thriller:

'Harry Brown'
'Public Enemies'
'Inglourious Basterds'
'The Hurt Locker'
'Sherlock Holmes'

Best Newcomer:

Carey Mulligan 'An Education'
Aaron Johnson 'Nowhere Boy'
Sharlto Copley 'District 9'
Anna Kendrick 'Up In The Air/New Moon'
Katie Jarvis 'Fish Tank'