Professor Stephen Hawking Unveils Medal For Science Communication

L-R Chemist and Nobel Laureate Sir Harold Kroto, Commander of the Cosmonauts team Alexi Leonov, Evolutionary Biologist Dr Richard Dawkins, former Queen guitarist Dr Brian May, Theoretical Physicist Professor Stephen Hawking and Astrophysicist Professor Garik Israelian gather on stage ahead of the announcement of the Stephen Hawking medal for science, 'Starmus' on December 16, 2015 in London, England. The new award for science communication is in honour of Professor Stephen Hawking and recognises the work of those helping to promote public awareness of science through music, arts and cinema.
(Dec. 15, 2015 - Source: Dan Kitwood/Getty Images Europe) more pics from this album »