New German Government Sworn In, Merkel Takes Fourth Term

(From L to R) New Family Minister Franziska Giffey, Foreign Minister Heiko Maas, State Culture Minister Monika Gruetters, Chancellor Angela Merkel and new Interior Minister Horst Seehofer attend the swearing-in of the new German government at the Bundestag on March 14, 2018 in Berlin, Germany. Members of the new German government, a coalition between Christian Democrats (CDU/CSU) and Social Democrats (SPD), were sworn in today and will begin work immediately. The new government took the longest to create of any government in modern German history following elections last September that left the German Christian Democrats (CDU) as the strongest party but with too few votes in order to have a strong hand in determining the next coalition.
(March 13, 2018 - Source: Sean Gallup/Getty Images Europe)