New German Government Sworn In, Merkel Takes Fourth Term

The newly elected german cabinet: Chief of Staff, Helge Braun, Development Ministry: Gerd Mueller, Education and Research Ministry: Anja Karliczek, Health Ministry: Jens Spahn , Justice Ministry, Katarina Barley, Food and Agriculture Minister: Julia Kloeckner , Defense Ministry: Ursula von der Leyen , Foreign Ministry, Heiko Maas, German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Germany President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, Finance Ministry and vice Chancellor, Olaf Scholz, Interior Ministry, Horst Seehofer, Economy and Energy Ministry: Peter Altmaier , Labor and Social Affairs Ministry, Hubertus Heil, Family Ministry, Franziska Giffey, Transport and Digital Infrastructure Minister: Andreas Scheue, Environment Ministry, Svenja Schulze pose after taking their oath to serve as Ministers after their election by the Bundestag on March 14, 2018 in Berlin, Germany. Members of the new German government, a coalition between Christian Democrats (CDU/CSU) and Social Democrats (SPD), were sworn in today and will begin work immediately. The new government took the longest to create of any government in modern German history following elections last September that left the German Christian Democrats (CDU) as the strongest party but with too few votes in order to have a strong hand in determining the next coalition.
(March 13, 2018 - Source: Michele Tantussi/Getty Images Europe)